Janelle Monáe Announces First Album in 5 Years, Shares New Video: Watch


Janelle Mone

Janelle Monáe, photo by Mason Rose

Janelle Monáe Announces First Album in 5 Years, Shares New Video: Watch

“Lipstick Lover” is the second offering from Monáe’s Dirty Computer follow-up, The Age of Pleasure

Janelle Monáe has announced The Age of Pleasure, her first new album since 2018’s Dirty Computer. The new LP opens with “Float” and also includes a new song called “Lipstick Lover.” Monáe co-directed the music video for her new song with Alan Ferguson. Watch it below.

The Age of Pleasure is out June 9. “All the songs were written from such an honest space,” Monáe said of her new record in an interview Zane Lowe on Apple Music 1. “So I hope that people feel that when they listen to the music, that they feel that when they come and, you know, counter with me when I’m around, I definitely have had an opportunity to evolve and grow and to tap into the things that bring me pleasure, the things that perhaps I should rethink and rework.”

Revisit “Human After All: On Janelle Monáe in Hidden Figures and Moonlight” on the Pitch.

All products featured on Pitchfork are independently selected by our editors. However, when you buy something through our retail links, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Janelle Monáe: The Age of Pleasure

The Age of Pleasure:

01 Float [ft. Seun Kuti and Egypt 80]
02 Champagne Shit
03 Black Sugar Beach
04 Phenomenal
05 Haute
06 Oh La La
07 Lipstick Lover
08 The Rush
09 The French 75
10 Water Slide
11 Know Better
12 Paid in Pleasure
13 Only Have Eyes 42
14 A Dry Red

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Trapped in ice: the surprisingly high levels of artificial radioactive isotopes found in glaciers
Tooning Out the News, Hell of a Week: Late Night Series Cancelled by Comedy Central
Major central banks were expected to pause rate hikes soon. Now it’s not so clear cut
Shawn Mendes and Camila Cabello’s Rekindled Romance Continues With Hand-Holding in NYC
Kali and Mello Buckzz Share New “Area Codes (773 Remix)”: Listen

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *